Viento y Aguas Coffee House and Gallery

9 Mar

What I’ve come to realize in my years of residence here in Long Beach, and So Cal in general, is that there are a billion quality hole-in-the-wall spots in the area. Viento y Aguas is definitely one of the many treasures that Long Beach has to offer. I was looking for a new study spot and I saw that this place is highly praised on Yelp. Yelp has NEVER failed me and definitely did not disappoint me this time around. I realized upon passing the coffee shop to park that I’ve been here once before. I remember getting a fruit-based drink because I think I was in that juice phase the last time I came here about a year or two ago.

I’ve been on a crazy coffee craze as of late…well more like for the past 3 months. Before that, I was highly addicted to milk teas for about half a year. I tend to go on sweet drink phases, and they last quite a while.

So this time around, I opted for the Mexican Mocha on the rocks, which happens to be one of their core competencies (business term for something they make/do really well). I wanted something savory to eat and asked the cashier what she recommended the Killer Tomato Sandwich with a voice resounding with resilience. I couldn’t refuse. Whole thing came to about $11, which isn’t cheap nor pricey for a coffee shop meal.

I took a seat, and there was a whole lotta room here…which is a great thing because it’s a rather popular place and I can see how this place could get packed. They have a funny sign outside on their door advertising their free FIOS Internet for customers. You have to ask for a card that has the password on it, and they’ll gladly provide that for you. Before I go any further, their customer service here is definitely above average and worth mentioning in this blog. The cashier was extremely friendly when she took my order and the barista was attentive and took the time to learn my name while sparking light conversation. Big plus, and gave this place a more “homely” feel.

On top of the great atmosphere and customer service, the food and drink was definitely the “deal maker”. The Killer Tomato Sandwich consisted of a sun-dried tomato bagel, tomatoes, cream cheese, spinach, basil, avocados, and lemon pepper. For those of you know my food habits, meat is something that I always have with my savory meals. So for this sandwich to be completely vegetarian and have the ability to impress my taste buds, was HUGE! Cream cheese and avocados go well with anything and everything. But with this sandwich, they successfully served as the meat substitute and paired perfectly with the rest of the ingredients. What surprised me most was how the sandwich filled me up. I wasn’t bloated, but I was definitely content. Bravo, Viento y Aguas!

The Mexican Mocha deserves high praise too. It consists of coffee, cinnamon, nutmeg, sugar, and coffee syrup. I usually don’t opt for mocha drinks because most places make them taste too “chocolatey”, so I go for the white mocha drinks a majority of the time. It was done right here. It was full of flavor and had enough sweetness to appease my sweet tooth. A big plus was that it was served in a jar. Cool beans.

Cruzade Rating: 8.5

Location:

4007 E 4th St
Long Beach, CA 90814

(562) 434-1182

Leave a comment