Royal Cup Cafe

30 Nov

I cannot emphasize how much I love this place. It’s the perfect combination of coffee, food, and artsy ambiance. I really wish I had more time to go here, but work just won’t allow it. While in college, I loved calling up a friend and bringing them here to study or to simply hang out and relax. It’s just one of those “go-to” places when you want to catch up with someone over good coffee. So let’s talk about my favorite offerings at Royal Cup:

Iced White Turtle Coffee- This is the basis of which I compare other iced coffees I try. A cup filled with white chocolate, almond, chocolate, and caramel. A sweet tooth can’t ask for more than that. It’s not too sugary to the point that you feel like dying, but enough to keep you more than satisfied. Also, a plus is that it’s served in a jar if you dine in. If you’re not feeling coffee, try the white chocolate green tea. Either drink is a win.

African Safari Panini- What’s inside: Worcestershire sauce mixed with mango chutney, chicken, fire-roasted sweet peppers, provolone and mayo. The combination of these ingredients in a warm pressed panini = heaven. The perfect blend of sweet and savory juices compliment the chicken and makes my mouth water just thinking about it. Also, the sandwich has my favorite cheese of all, which gives it an extra point in my book.

The Art- In no way am I an art connoisseur. I am not blessed with artistic talent, but I do appreciate art and the people who contribute to it. The walls of Royal Cup are full of unique pieces from local artists looking to showcase and sell their work. Each can be bought for a specific price. I really admire that Royal Cup does not charge the artists to display and sell their pieces.

Like many other coffee shops, Royal Cup hosts open mic nights during the week. I have not had the chance to attend any purposely, but there was a time I had to shorten my study session because it’s almost impossible to study with live music and people cheering around you. I will make it a point to come out and support one of these days.

Cruzade Rating: 9

Location:

994 Redondo Ave
Long Beach, CA 90804
(562) 987-1027

Leave a comment